Zone IV

Zone IV met on October 1, 2013 at the Putnam County Courthouse in Hennepin, IL.  Meeting hosted by Putnam County Treasurer Kevin Kunkel.
Minutes here.

Zone IV met on February 28, 2013 in Rock Island, IL.  Meeting hosted by Rock Island County Treasurer Louisa Ewert.
Minutes here.

Zone IV met on October 22, 2012 in Dekalb, IL.  Meeting hosted by Dekalb County Treasurer Mark Todd.
Minutes here.

Zone IV met on March 29, 2012 in Oregon, IL.  Meeting hosted by Ogle County Treasurer John Coffman.
Minutes here.
Treasurer’s Report here.
Next meeting will be scheduled for sometime in July.

Zone IV met on July 20, 2011 in Galena, IL. Meeting hosted by JoDaviess County Treasurer Carol Soat.
Minutes here
Treasurer’s Report here
No one brought a camera!
Zone Chairman Curt Newport will try to schedule the next meeting in Ogle County in early October.

Illinois County Treasurers’ Association
Zone IV

Zone IV meeting
March 3, 2011

The winter meeting of ICTA Zone IV was called to order by Zone President Curt Newport at 12:45 pm on March 2, 2011 at the Lee County Courthouse.

Members present:
Robert Skidmore – Lake        Curt Newport – Boone        Don Lamps – LaSalle
Julie Harris – LaSalle        Marcy Miller – Grundy        Mark Todd – Dekalb
Brian McDaniel – Will        Adrienne Becker – Stephenson    Laura Hauck – Stephenson
David Rickert – Kane        Della Winkler – Kane        Maria Herrera – Kane
John Coffman – Ogle        Darlene Hook – Whiteside        Penny VanKampen – Whiteside
Nina Urbanowski – Bureau        Kevin Kunkel – Putnam        Theresa Grennan – Winnebago
Kerry Anderson – Winnebago    Jill Ferko – Kendall        Diane Powers – Carroll
Dena Brown – JoDaviess        Tammy Cahill – JoDaviess        Rich VerHeecke – Henry
John Fritts – Lee            Patty McBride – Lee        Kathy Lalley – Lee
Melissa Lawrence – Lee        Louisa Ewert – Rock Island

Associate members and guests present:
Dan Welch – Champaign        Barb Little – Champaign        Melissa Glessner – US Bank
Andrew Smith – US Bank        Steve Connell – Devnet, Inc.     Alan Bergfeld – Tipton Systems
Gary Lake – Mail Communications Group                Todd Sholeen – Charter One Bank
Rick Scheibal – Joseph E. Meyer & Associates

Zone Treasurer Jill Ferko presented the Treasurer’s report.  Income from 2010 totaled $150.00 in associate member dues.  There were no expenses.  Bank balance as of 12/31/2010 was 2,589.16.  To date there have been no income or expenses in 2011.

Ferko asked for a motion to authorize Jill Ferko (Kendall County Treasurer) and Connie Punke (Kendall County Chief Deputy Treasurer) to be signers on the Zone IV checking account.  Said motion was made by John Fritts and seconded by Kevin Kunkel.  With no further discussion, the motion carried on a voice vote.

Newport announced that ICTA President Dan Welch was asking each zone to contribute $100 toward the hospitality room expenses at the County Treasurer’s Training Program on March 30-31.  Motion by David Rickert, second by Kevin Kunkel to make said contribution.  Motion carried on a voice vote.

Bob Skidmore presented a legislative update.  He asked the treasurers to review 35 ILCS 250, the Longtime Owner-occupant Property Tax Relief Act.  This is a real estate tax exemption for counties over 3,000,000 population and he asked for our feedback on whether we should encourage legislation to expand this exemption to all counties.

Della Winkler led a discussion regarding concerns with the Senior Citizens’ Tax Deferral Program.  There were questions regarding the responsibility of county treasurers to verify the accuracy and completeness of information provided by applicants, especially with regard to liens on the parcel.

Curt Newport suggested a gift from Zone IV to State Senator and former Dekalb County Treasurer Christine Johnson, in gratitude for her 17 years of service to the organization.  Motion by Bob Skidmore, second by John Coffman, to authorize Curt Newport to purchase a desk clock or similar memento at a cost not to exceed $150.  Motion carried on a voice vote.  If possible we will present this gift to Senator Johnson during the Treasurers’ Training Conference March 30-31.

Motion to adjourn by Kevin Kunkel, second by Don Lamps at 1:26 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Curtis P. Newport

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *